Christmas for the MTV generation (and beyond)

Christmas in the post-War United States

Image via Wikipedia

 

One of my friends who reads our blog (hi, Joe!) suggested when he heard that three of us were writing this blog that, at least occasionally, we really collaborate on it.  That is, that one of us should start a blog with a sentence and the others come in, adding more sentences.  BUT…since lots of people are now thinking about Christmas, I think we should (between our fabulously-written posts) add a link for a video of our favorite Christmas songs to our blogs. 

And readers, please contribute your own! 

I am of the MTV generation mainly because, at close to the age of 35 in 1982, I started college.  While I was a “tad bit” older than my classmates, I was constantly exposed to their music.  That, coupled with the fact that my son was headed into his teens, meant that I watched a lot of MTV and heard a lot of music that I might not have if I’d been a 35 year old mother in the suburbs.  And who could  have figured at that time that 25 years later I’d be living in Mexico?

But age-wise, I am still a baby-boomer and there are songs that I heard in the house I shared with my parents that I still love.  And I’m an expat of a certain age in Mexico and there are songs from here that I also love.  So, from me, you’re probably gonna get a mix of old and new.  Here’s my first pick.  It’s from 1985.  Back when Bob Geldof, George Michael, and the members of Duran Duran were still major babes, and Bono and Sting were, well, Bono and Sting even as we know them today.  And, sadly, enough those folks in Africa still need our help. 

Try this:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0rG8ZNYUHc&feature=fvst.  If it doesn’t work, go to www.youtube.com and search for “do they know it’s christmas time”.

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas for the MTV generation (and beyond)

  1. Joe H says:

    I always liked the song Christmas Wrapping by the Waitresses. If you want to go back further, Sleigh Ride by the Ronettes was always a favorite. For a humorous choice, try searching for Xmas Ozzy on YouTube. Or Kevin Bloody Wilson (not recommended for children!).

    • Barbara says:

      Joe, thank so much for the suggestions. as i mentioned to you elsewhere, i have Christmas Wrapping on my list, but i definitely need to check out Kevin Bloody Wilson!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Okay, that’s one of favorite songs – I have the vinyl version still. But, this is a classic, “Silver & Gold” because my grandma always sang it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMlqn_Hjyi8

  3. Joe Jensen says:

    Don’t know that this is my favorite, but it’s not Xmas without it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dnrosVyamY . Great pics, Barb

Leave a Reply

