The Colors of Mexico

You know what I love?  I love color!  Which may come as a shock to anyone who’s seen my wardrobe (khaki pants and dark shirts for the most part).   I moved to Las Vegas primarily because I was so captivated by the neon lights.  So imagine my delight at living in Mexico where bright colors are everywhere — from clothing and parade outfits to street markets to ceramics stores and plant nurseries and beyond.  Hope you enjoy the pictures.

Folklorico dancer in Chapala:

Participants in the Senor del Monte fiesta in Jocotepec:

Nacimiento (nativity scene) at the Maestros Art Fair in Chapala:

Parade participant in Tuxpan (although I gotta admit that the ribbon vest was not the first thing that caught my eye!):

Handmade belts at Chapala tianguis:

Two vendor displays at the Dia de la Virgen de Guadalupe celebration in Zamora, Michoacan:

Candy booth at Joco fiesta:

Ceramics at a shop in San Antonio Tlay on the north shore of Lake Chapala:

And, oh, my, the plants here!

And, finally, refresco (juice drink) stand on the plaza in Jocotepec, where I currently live:

And, oh, P.S. speaking of colorful places, here’s my Christmas song selection for today.  When I first heard this song while living at home with my parents, I had no inkling whatsoever that one day I would move to Hawaii and try to write Mele Kalikimaka backwards on the inside of my living room window.  Enjoy!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XADcfVa8Q1Q

And, once again, if that link doesn’t work, go to www.youtube.com and search for Mele Kalikimaka!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in General, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Colors of Mexico

  1. Gigi says:

    Oh, the colors! My sentiment exactly! A vivid country of contrasts. I like the ribbon vest too.

    • Barbara says:

      gigi, i like what’s under the ribbon vest a LOT! i spent about half an hour stalking him. i’m sure he didn’t notice. i mean, there were four other gringos in the town!

    • EllenBeyers says:

      Beautiful, colorful photos. Very festive!! Living and working with Florida flora is a joy.

      • Barbara says:

        glad you enjoyed it, ellen! and glad that you’re still happy in the keys! (that is where you are; right?) nice thing here is not much heat and not much humidity….at least not much compared to southern florida. if you ever get down to my neck of the woods, let me know. would love to see you!

  2. Wyotoad (Larry Orr) says:

    Incredible colors. I see a lot of them in the area of Arizona I live in due to the strong presence of Latinos here, but they pale in comparison to your photos.

    • Barbara says:

      orr, surely you have some suggestions for great christmas songs. i know how much you love music and how eclectic your tastes are. by the way, if you haven’t heard of him, check out kevin bloody wilson that my friend, joe h, recommended. note: definitely NOT suitable for work….or maybe even your wife!

Leave a Reply

