Christmas songs, part deux

Yes, yes, I know that deux is not Spanish, but French.  But it looks so much more like the name of a Christmas carol.  You know, like “Joyeux Noel.”  “Segundo,” on the other hand, looks and sounds like the name of a Mexican wrestler.  I don’t really want to talk about that though.  What I do want to talk about is Christmas songs.  A few postings back (Christmas for the MTV Generation), I asked about people’s favorite Christmas songs.  A few of our faithful readers responded with one of their favorites which I would like to share….along with one of my own. 

Faithful reader Joe J., who by way of full disclosure I must tell you that I went to high school with, has said that it really wouldn’t be Christmas without hearing this song:  The Chipmunk Song by Alvin, Simon, and Theodore  (The Chipmunks).  Try this link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dnrosVyamY

My Death Valley friend, Joe. H, on the other hand, has gone way to the other end of the novelty song end of the scale and suggested The Waitresses’ 1981 song, Christmas Wrapping, a new wave song .  Check out the song and the video here:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyEztz6nY9Q

Constant reader, blogger, and faithful friend Jenn recommends a song from the annual claymation TV show “Rudolph the RedNosed Reindeer,” Silver and Gold.  I have to admit that I have long since given up watching Christmas shows so I didn’t remember this one at all: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMlqn_Hjyi8

My selection for today is truly one of my most favorites.  I was going to save it up for later in the month, but then I realized that it’s going to likely get into your head and you’ll be unable to shake it, so in deference to your mental health, I’m giving it to you early so it won’t still be running around in your brain until mid January. 

To my recollection, even though this song was released in 1958 by Harry Belafonte (look him up) and re-recorded by Boney M in 1978, the first time I heard it was on the car radio on my way to the Florida Keys in 1999.  After the first hearing, I spent the rest of the drive punching seek on the radio trying to find it again.  Check it out and let me know if it gets all up in your head too.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxm1FlLSfe4

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas songs, part deux

  1. Jonnie says:

    Here is a rendition of my favorite song “The Little Drummer Boy”. Enjoy. Feliz Navidad.

  2. me says:

    Never heard of Boney M…sorta remember the song…didya notice the guy in the
    “real skinny” pants doesnt seem to be doing any singing, only shaking his stuff!!!

    • Barbara says:

      i love his hair! he’s like some cousin of Prince. and, frankly, i find it rather refreshing to see a video that features a GUY as the “we only included this person in the video because he sexes it up.”

    • Barbara says:

      oh, no, the guy in the real “skinny pants” has died in russia!!! oh, please, sher, tell me that you didn’t curse him somehow!!!

  3. Monex says:

    Mine the Hawaiian Christmas song that is on the Christmas Vacation movie. Carol of the Bells is about the only winter Christmas song I actually enjoy. As I understand this was the very last song Bing recorded before he closed his eyes for the very last time.

Leave a Reply

