Karen’s Favorite Christmas Songs

Since Barbara and Michael have posted some of their Christmas songs, I thought it was time for me to chime in with a few of my favorites.  While I tend to be pretty non-traditional in most things, I think my Christmas song choices do run slightly more traditional than those put up by my co-bloggers. 

I don’t know that this is really a Christmas song, but I always hear it played around Christmas, and long ago, I had a tape (remember tapes?) of Christmas songs, and this was on it:  Sheep May Safely Graze.  It’s an instrumental, by Bach, and I’m not sure that I’ve ever heard words put to it, but I love the peaceful tone of this, and I’ve heard it done on piano, guitar, harp, violin …… I just like it.

Continuing, for a moment, with the sheep theme (and the not-necessarily-a-Christmas-song-theme), I just recently discovered Bobby McFerrin’s version of the 23rd Psalm, and quite love it.  Apparently, he does all the harmonies on this lovely track.

More traditionally, I’m partial to Josh Groban’s O Holy Night.  Little 9 year old Jackie Evancho does a wonderful rendition, too.  (I also enjoy Groban’s rendition of You Raise Me Up.  Again, not really, a Christmas song, but wonderful, nonetheless.)

And how can we enjoy Christmas without a version of The Hallelujah Chorus.  Check out this Flash Mob surprise (if you’re not one of the 24 million who haven’t already seen it – and, well, even if you are, it’s uplifting to watch again) of The Hallelujah Chorus, or listen to Leonard Cohen’s every-popular Hallelujah.  Cohen certainly does the most soulful version of his song, but I love the silky harmonies on this one, from the movie Shrek.

And who can resist Kenny G’s Let it Snow?   Okay, maybe Michael could resist.  He’s not a Kenny G fan, but I love the man’s music, and have the whole Christmas CD.   I also love Andrea Boccelli’s version of Angels We Have Heard on High (and, when you’re not in the Christmas song mood, check out Boccelli and Sarah Brightman performing Time to Say Good-Bye.    I first heard this in Las Vegas, at Bellagio’s Dancing Waters, and was mesmerized.)

I’ll end with Sweet Baby James – and me, too – hoping that you Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas!

About Karen

While loving the wizardry of words, I also love to travel because of that present-moment sense that each day is a gift to unwrap that the experience of travel conveys so well. Other passions include hiking, gardening, photographing, movies and documentaries, reading, writing (I've finished my first novel .... and seeking an agent) and entering recipe contests. Michael and I are both fascinated with factory tours, literary landmarks, and seeking restaurants mentioned in novels - just to see if they exist. Our favorite restaurant we've found this way is the Nuevo Latino-style Yuca (www.yuca.com) in Miami.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Karen’s Favorite Christmas Songs

  1. Rachael Morgan says:

    All of you would appreciate (I think) ‘Santa Lost a Ho’ by the Christmas Jug Band.
    Merry Christmas!
    Much Love,
    Rachael

Leave a Reply

