Shine a Little Light on this Solstice Season

I’ve been doing a little happy dance the past two days, since I know – even though my senses haven’t registered it yet – that we’re heading back towards summer (eventually) and light … light …. light!!!  I don’t really mind the cold during the winter (except on those 30 mph windy days), but really struggle with the darkness, and, now,  just the knowing that there’s a little light in the long tunnel towards spring makes a big difference. 

I do enjoy candlelight dinners all winter long, but often the candles aren’t quite bright enough, and we’ll supplement with oil lamps and the gentle glow from Lafayette lamps.   What I’m hoping is that someone out there in the blogosphere will know something about these lamps.  Here’s a picture:

These were my grandmother’s, and I’m thinking they’re some kind of Art Deco lamps ….. maybe from the 20’s?   I’ve always loved these lamps, and as a kid, I thought the figures that glowed in front of the lamps were angels.  My mother just recently mailed these guys to me, since she knew how much I loved them, and she told me that one of the “Lafayettes” had come loose from the base and just needed to be glued back in.   “What’s a lafayette?” I asked and then learned those figures I thought were angels were Lafayettes!  And, well, now that I look at them, I guess there is an uncanny resemblance to drawings of the Marquis de Lafayette. 

I’ve googled my little heart out, trying to find some info on these lamps – just out of curiosity – and can’t find a thing.  So, gentle readers, is there anyone out there who can shine a little light on the background of these lovely lamps? 

Happy Solstice and Merry Christmas!

About Karen

While loving the wizardry of words, I also love to travel because of that present-moment sense that each day is a gift to unwrap that the experience of travel conveys so well. Other passions include hiking, gardening, photographing, movies and documentaries, reading, writing (I've finished my first novel .... and seeking an agent) and entering recipe contests. Michael and I are both fascinated with factory tours, literary landmarks, and seeking restaurants mentioned in novels - just to see if they exist. Our favorite restaurant we've found this way is the Nuevo Latino-style Yuca (www.yuca.com) in Miami.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, General, Huh???? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shine a Little Light on this Solstice Season

  1. Joe says:

    Need a little more info….are they oil or kerosene or white gas? What size? Shape? Do they have any markings on the bottom or back? I got a few books on antiques. Might be able to do you some good.

  2. Karen says:

    Hi Joe,
    They’re electric, and although they appear to have always been electric, they look as if they’ve been re-wired at some time. The lamp is a foot tall. Lafayette guy is 6 inches. The Lafayettes don’t have any direct electric – they’re just backlit from the tubes of light behind them. The base and the top piece appear to be some kind of a plated metal, which is kind of “rusted” now in spots. I couldn’t find any markings anywhere. Thanks for looking into them. I’ve been curious for years.

Leave a Reply

