Experience is what you get

 

Well, it’s done.  Apparently, all of us lived through Christmas, but not without a few dings and dents along the way, at least in my case. 

On Christmas Day, I hosted a dinner at my house in Jocotepec for six other expats.  Was it fun?  Absolutely!  Was the dinner good?  Absolutely!  Was it totally without problems?  Absolutely  not!  But that’s how it goes at anyone’s house; right?

For years, my motto has been “experience is what you get when you don’t get what you want.”  Today I decided to find out who said it originally.  I’ve never claimed that I came up with it, but I didn’t know who did.  Google refers me to several sites that attribute it to Dan Stanford….but I can find very little to tell me who Dan Stanford is/was.  If anybody knows or can find out, let me know, so I can get a little knowledge with my experience. 

 Anyhow, Christmas 2010 was just another experience under my belt….and if you saw how fat I am, you’d appreciate all the experiences I’ve shoved under there and elect me Experience Queen at the next reunion. 

For one thing, I had the experience of cooking my first prime rib.  And I learned a few things….which is what experience is supposed to teach you; right?  For one thing, I learned that it is entirely possible to buy a good prime rib in Mexico….well, at least in Guadalajara.  It’s certainly not a staple of the Mexican diet, but with a good explanation to a butcher, he can come up with it. 

It helps, of course, if you are fluent in Spanish, which neither my friends Jonnie and Sher nor I am.  But somehow Jonnie was able to explain to one of the butchers at megastore Mega what she was looking for….although not without a lot of charades that made me laugh out loud.  Lots of references to carne de rez … beef … and lots of pointing at her ribs while using the word for bones. 

Me?  I’m just thankful that the butcher wasn’t Hannibal Lecter!  Because if he were, he’d definitely have gone after me first with his knife.  It’s patently obvious that looking at the three of us … Jonnie, Sher, and me … I’m the one with the most meat on my bones and the most likely to yield a delicious Christmas meal. 

I also learned this Christmas that it’s probably not a good idea to have your back to the dinner group when they are divving up the leftovers.  I was washing dishes while several of the others were asking “Who wants some of this?”.  Because I had loved every dish we had for Christmas … which was part pitch in … I just kept yelling “Me!”.  And apparently that’s how I wound up with very little actual food, but with enough sweets to satisfy the entire remaining cast of “Survivor” on their twentieth day on the island!  Spice cake, fancy Jello salad, cheesecake, Special K crunchies, and a HUGE plateful of fudge.  In addition, I got as a gift a box of Ferrero Rocher and a fifth of Polish vodka!

So not much actual healthy food in my house these days, but yet more experience under my belt, as well as a lot of things I WANT!  What a deal! 

Hope your holiday was equally fattening, delicious, and fun!  And now on to New Year!!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Food, Fun Stuff, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Experience is what you get

  1. Kathi says:

    How could you forget about the mountains of fluffy potatoes you got in your left over pile!!!
    They should keep the chupacabra away from the door for awhile.

  2. Barbara says:

    i didn’t forget the taters! that’s REAL food!!! but, yes, the thought really is to keep the chupacabra away from the door for a while. if he comes around, i’m gonna be hurling cheesecake at him!!!

  3. Karen says:

    I love the motto – “Experience is what you get when you don’t get what you want.” It’s win/win!

Leave a Reply

