I SWEAR I went to see the guys….

This week and next, the first two weeks in January, the pueblo of Jocotepec, where I live, celebrates its patron saint, Senor del Monte, with daily parades and pilgrimages, fireworks, music, and masses at our large Catholic church.  Each day’s events are sponsored by a particular group, and today’s festivities … January 8 … were paid for by the local contractors and builders. 

Because my friend Antonio, who takes care of  my garden and pool in his “spare” time, is in his other life a great builder, I made a special effort to attend today’s activities.  I truly went to show my support for … and take pictures of … Antonio and his hard working cohorts, but when I got home and downloaded my pictures, I discovered something rather disconcerting.  I wound up taking way more photos of the kids in the parade than I did of our local builders.

Oh, no!  What does this say about me?  Please tell me that this doesn’t mean that I have become one of those older women who only want to talk about and share pictures of their grandchildren.  I mean, I’m way cooler than that; right?  And, besides, I only have the one kid … who is now almost 40 … and I d0n’t have any grandkids and don’t really care if I have any. 

So how to explain this fascination with snapping pictures of small Mexicans of a certain age?

After a few drinks and a few reviews of my kid pictures and then a few more drinks, I’ve come to this conclusion:  I do it because Mexican kids are so darn photogenic.  They may say the darndest things too, but since my Spanish is so bad, I don’t know.  That’s another thing about the kids in Jocotepec; they’re all smarter than I am.  At two years of age, they can all speak way better Spanish than I can and I’ve been here for almost three years. 

But, yet again, I digress. 

Just look at these faces though and I dare you to tell me that they’re not all photogenic. 

Oh, sure, you say, ALL babies and toddlers are cute.  Well, I offer the following in support of my theory: 

And since these are my pictures and I’m the one who lives in Joco with these kids, and because everything …as my friends know…is always about me, me, me, I proclaim these 23 kids to be my grandkids and proudly say that my 23 grandkids are more photogenic than your 23 grandchildren! 

So there.

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Huh???? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I SWEAR I went to see the guys….

  1. Kathi says:

    They are cute and can do the Aztec dances like …..well, like Aztecs!
    The Fiesta last night was great fun! Good Fiesta street food, lots of people and fireworks.

  2. Jonnie says:

    Well, granny, great job as usually with the kid shots. I don’t have kids so I don’t have grandkids obviously but I think yours are just the cutest things. Are you going to start carrying a photo album in your pocket (since you don’t do the purse thing)?

  3. me says:

    I’ll be in competition….some day! Great pics, great time….I think I have more pics of the
    “men”…hmmmmmm

  4. Jennifer says:

    They sure are adorable!

  5. Karen says:

    These children are so totally cute! And they all look so happy. Have you seen the movie/documentary “Babies”? What struck me about that was how all the babies – from the poorest in Africa who played with bones to the richest in Japan and the USA – all progressed at the same level, and all just seemed to happy and content (most of the time) …. whether playing with that yak bone or going to baby exercise classes with Mom.

Leave a Reply

