Grocery Shopping in Mexico

Last month, I wrote an article about grocery shopping here in Jocotepec, Jalisco, Mexico. I mentioned that most people here … expats and locals alike … shop at three different places.  First is the mercado or marketplace.  Second is Aurrera Bodega, a Wal*Mart Mexico offshoot.  The third is their local tienda or abarrote, which is comparable to a mom and pop store north of the border.

In my earlier post, I wrote about shopping at the mercado and said I would write later about shopping at Aurrera Bodega and the abarrotes. My plan for this week was to write about Aurrera.  But before I got around to doing so, I read a post dated January 31 by a blogger on Isla Mujeres.  His blog is listed in our blogroll … Isla Mujeres: Gringo in Paradise.   I read him faithfully.

Isla Mujeres is located on the other side of Mexico from me.  It’s an island in the Caribbean located a short distance off the Yucatan peninsula in the Mexican state of Quintana Roo.  [In my book, Quintana Roo is the coolest name for a state in the entire country.  Probably the coolest in all of North America.]  The town in which Gringo in Paradise lives, also named Isla Mujeres, is probably comparable in size to the town of Jocotepec … 11,000 folks more or less.  But it gets a lot more tourists than we do here in Joco, and therefore the cost of living is higher.  Nothing like a bunch of white tourists to drive up the prices! 

When I read Gringo in Paradise’s blog posting about his local grocery store, however, I was amazed at how similar it is to MY local grocery store.  So instead of writing about Aurrera Bodega in Jocotepec, I’m going to suggest that you read Gringo’s posting.  It’s laugh out loud funny and to learn what Aurrera Bodega is like, just substitute that name whenever the post mentions Super Express.  Even the pictures could have been taken at Aurrera, with the exception of the liquor department.  Ours is much smaller.  I’m not going to extrapolate on that. 

Here’s the link; now go read it!  It’s the posting for January 31, 2011:  http://bnwisla.blogspot.com/.

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grocery Shopping in Mexico

  1. Gringo in Isla de Mujeres did a perfect job in describing Mexican “Super Store” shopping. I swear we must be related. I’ve said the same things as him about such things as Lard and Sugar frosted bread (supposed to be cake), how you can get 10 different looking “pastries” and they all taste exactly the same blandness, and the veggies and the specials on beans and rice and so on…. And then at the check-out stand, where Mom’s adage about “Patience is a virtue” was truly made whole.

    The only thing I thought badly of was the comment “If you don’t know Annette Funicello is go ask your dad.” I’m just (?) 59 and I remember ogling her.

    Gracias to you Barbara for pointing us to it and gracias to El Gringo Viejo for writing it.

  2. Jonnie says:

    How funny and how true!!! I’m with señor Jocotepecker, thanks for sending us to El Gringo Viejo for another Mexico experience perspective. The only problem is that he might as well be here or us there! Same perspective but fun just the same. Oh, and don’t forget, if you see several items of something that you use often, buy them all (since there are usually only three or four) because it may be awhile before they are seen again!

Leave a Reply

