Where Am I????

A few days ago, I went on teeny tiny roadtrip with one of my friends and a guy who has lived here around Lake Chapala for about three years but hasn’t done too much exploring.  We had lunch at Gloria’s, naturally, and then we took him down to my old pueblo of San Cristobal Zapotitlan on the south shore.  Then through Jocotepec “proper” on the way back.  

We were talking about all the varied faces of Mexico, even within this small area around the western end of Lake Chapala.   James, in particular, noticed it.  The other two of us are so well acquainted with the area, that we don’t notice it anymore.  But James brought up the concept of taking somebody from the US or Canada, whisking them away blindfolded, and then doing the big “reveals” here around the lake and making them guess what country they were in. 

Now that you’ve seen some pictures of my area, you’d probably say “Oh, pshaw, I’d know EXACTLY what country I was in.”  [Well, okay, you probably wouldn’t say “pshaw” but it’s just one of those crossword puzzle words that I love and need to work into a post.  I’ll be trying to work “stoat” and “etui” in some day soon.  Shout out to my friend Warner!]

Anyhow, I’ll bet you think you have a good idea of what “Mexico” is like.  But I’ll bet you don’t.  Heck, I’ve lived here three years and I’m not even sure what this area of Lake Chapala is like! 

So, because I love games even more than I love crossword puzzles, let’s play “Where am I?”  I’ll give you two pictures and you guess which one was taken here in this area.

One of these pictures was taken in the Texas “hill” country south of Austin, and one was taken about an hour’s drive from Lake Chapala on the road to Amacueca.  Which is which?  

Round two!  One of these “doors” was photographed in my neck of the woods.  One was photographed in England.  Which is which?

Or, how about these lighthouses?  One is in Sweden; one is in Roca Azul, here on the western end of Lake Chapala.  Which one is which? 

Okay, that one was pretty easy, wasn’t it?  Well, then, how about this one?  One of these rental carriages can be leased in Arkansas, one in Guadalajara.  Which one would you think is in Mexico? 

Okay, I gave you a HUGE hint with the license plate.  But if you hadn’t noticed that, would you REALLY have known?

How about a fishing village?  One of these is on the Pacific coast of Mexico; the other is in Greece.  Can you tell which is which? 

 

And, finally…..one of these photos was taken in Iran; one was taken in Zamora, Michoacan, Mexico.  You DO see the similarities; don’t you? 

It really IS a small world after all, isn’t it?

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Lake Chapala, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Where Am I????

  1. Kathi says:

    Brilliant work!!

    You obviously have a LOT of time on your hands!

    • Barbara says:

      wait a minute! is that some kinda crack???? and did you tell your beloved that i have given him a shout out in my blog??? i’ll get you for this, you wascly wabbit!

  2. Kathi says:

    OK you Gamer……..where are the ANSWERS?!?!?!

  3. Barbara says:

    let’s see YOUR answers first, my friend! you’ve been to every one of these places in Mexico!

  4. Warner says:

    I love to fit stoat into my crossword puzzles. Where are the answers?

  5. Kathi says:

    OK here are my answers.
    2,2,1,2,1,2
    How’d I do???

  6. Kathi says:

    Tee Hee…..I was guessing the whole time!!!

    Bet you wonder how I knew on the last pair…..the ladies in similarly embroidered shawls……that was tough. I’ll tell you it was NOT the shawls that gave it away.
    And I really don’t remember where/when you took that pix.

  7. Gigi Taylor says:

    OK i’ll play! MX is 2,2,1,2,1,2. I think. Whithout the license I’d not have known the carraige, and I did do a little guessing, esp on the doors.

    REALLY cool idea!

Leave a Reply

