It’s raining!!!!!!!!!!!!!

While my cobloggers Karen and Michael continue to do battle with floods in Montana, we here around Lake Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico, have continued to do battle with high temps and lack of rain.  My friends, gringo and Mexican alike, are panting.  The lawn and the flowers in the garden are gasping for more liquid.  The birds are highdiving into the pool, trying to rehydrate themselves. 

But last night, about 7:30, it commenced to pour here.   To come down in buckets.  And I can’t tell you how happy we all were.  I haven’t seen people this excited about rain since I lived in Death Valley!

I tried to call my friend Kathi to ask if she was getting the same rain, but couldn’t get through because she was on the phone to our friend Georgia talking about it.  I then checked on one of the Lake Chapala forums to see if anyone was writing about it and saw a posting from my friend Marilyn about rain, rain, rain.  

Marilyn lives about a mile west of me and she got the moisture first.  Since the storm was moving east, it was my turn next and then Kathi and Georgia’s.  I emailed our friend Jonnie, who lives about eight miles further east, and not only hadn’t she gotten any rain, but she was turning green with envy that we had.  And if you knew how dry it’s been down here for months, you’d know that Jonnie was the only thing green within a 50 mile radius. 

But about 30 minutes later, I got an email from Jonnie that merely said:  WHOOHOO!  BUCKETS!!

The rain made me start thinking about why I love thunderstorms so much.  Not just down here.  I’ve loved them since I was a little kid.  I think it’s because, unlike most weather phenomena, thunderstorms appeal to all of the five senses.  I mean, you can see the lightning and the rain; you can hear the thunder; you can smell the rain and feel it on your body; and, if you’ve a mind to, you can taste the rain, too. 

Sure, snowstorms are visually attractive, and you can certainly hear tornadoes and feel duststorms on your skin, but give me a good thunderstorm any day.  No, really, any day!  Just not every day. 

Along with my ponderings about rainstorms, I recollected [well, actually, I never forget] my favorite song ever about rain.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the queen of New Orleans, Miss Irma Thomashttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXPlec9jXZw

May the rains [but not too much of them] be with you!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Lake Chapala, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s raining!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Kathi says:

    What a gal…..that Irma. Have never heard her till now. Thanks for giving her to us!

    Yeah, that rain was awesome.

  2. Joe says:

    Wish we could get some of that rain. all we been gettin’ is dust and fires. 3 million acres in TX so far this year. even us heathens are prayin’ for a cotton shower or two. I’m like you barb, love those thunderstorms.

  3. Jonnie says:

    Well, I don’t think it is officially rainy season yet, the rain came from the west instead of the east but I’m not complaining!!! I got the best nights sleep last night that I have had in two months!!! Yes, today was my pick for the start of rainy season in our little group “rain lottery” and I won’t get to be the weather goddess this year but hey, who cares? It RAINED!!!!!

Leave a Reply

