Dia de la independencia

 

 

On September 16 this year….as we do every year…we here in Mexico celebrated Dia de la Independencia [Independence Day].   It’s kind of like July 4th in the US, but even bigger.  And longer.  For example, in Sahuayo, where my friends and I spent the holiday, the parades started on September 14th. 

On that day, the citizens of Sahuayo [the Sahuayenses] are encouraged to wear clothing representing their ancestry or that of bygone eras in Mexican history.  And so they did!  While many of the adults would go out later in the evening to clubs and gatherings which rewarded those dressed in the most authentic “costumes,” the kids …. as most all kids are … were ready to dress up early and be seen in the Plaza. 

And what a wealth of clothing they wore!  Please….enjoy! 

[Oh, and I must apologize for the fact that the pictures are not as cleanly cropped or "cleaned up" as much as my previous photos.  I have run out of space on my Picasa account and have to use Flickr for these.  So far, I have not discovered how to edit in Flickr the way I did in Picasa.  Nonetheless, I hope you enjoy them.  Learning curve....I is on it....or in it, whichever!] 

By the way, some of these pictures confuse me a bit, too.  For instance, this little girl looks more like a member of some middle eastern harem than an “historic” Mexican.   

But perhaps that’s my lack of awareness of Mexican history….or my slanted US view of Mexican history.  Or maybe it’s all the makeup.

 Others look authentic, except that they are pictured with anachronisms: 

I’ve always found men with moustaches attractive….even if they are three years old.  While their fathers are generally clean shaven, these young fellows seem to take pride in their facial “hair,” and some of it looks chillingly authentic!    

The little guy below, for instance, reminds me of my friend John Dugas who, on his way to Colombia to do fieldwork while working on his PhD at Indiana University, grew a ‘stache’ so he would look more Latino and less Cajun! 

On the other hand, some of these kids look so “authentic” that I feel like you could slap them down into the Mexico of  one or two hundred years ago and they would fit right in. 

 

 

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Lake Chapala, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dia de la independencia

  1. Karen says:

    Barb, are the historical aspects of the holiday celebrated all over Mexico or just in the area you went to. I think that is great they maintain ties to their history.
    Michael

    • Barbara says:

      michael, i really can’t tell you. i do know that during the festival for the Virgin of Guadalupe, you see many little boys dressed as Juan Diego, who first encountered her.

  2. kay says:

    Adorable pix.
    The nation is finally settling down….kids went to school today…..but it was a wild and wonderful long weekend all over the place.
    Kathi

  3. Mike Osborn says:

    Oh those little girls! Great photos!! Thanks for sharing. It’s difficult for me to get to the plaza for many of these events and I so appreciate when someone takes such great photos. Gracias!!

Leave a Reply

