So….what next??

My friend Richard recently wrote me and asked where I would be without parades to blog about.  And my blog friend Gaby commented that parades are a strange phenomena in the sense that they are ritualized ways to stare at other people. 

I’m thinking that Richard and Gaby are just the tip of the iceberg.  Maybe you are all getting tired of the parade postings.  In my defense, I’ll say that I enjoy them because they are always colorful and are of interest to me as an anthropologist because of the symbolism involved therein. 

What would YOU like to read about?  There are really only two subjects about which I refuse to write:  narco activity and politics.  One can be dangerous and the other is pretty much forbidden to expats down here.  But other than those, I’m certainly open to suggestions. 

So what’s your reading preference?  You can post a comment here or email me or post on my Facebook account.  Let me hear from you! 

Thanks!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in General, Lake Chapala. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to So….what next??

  1. Kathi says:

    I’ve been here in Mexico going to Fiestas and their processions for 8 years. I corrupted our Barbara. And I’m proud of it.
    I will never ever tire of these wonderful Mexican Processions. I’ve gone to processions/parades in all sorts of countries around the world and loved each and every one. But the best ones are the ones I’m actually IN. Woo Hoo!
    I’m even going to Guatemala to see theirs at Easter! Guess that lets you know what kind of delightful person I am!

    • Dominique says:

      Thank you for corrupting her. I Love seeing these parades!! It makes me feel like I’m there. 🙂

      • Barbara says:

        ’cause, dom, you know how easily i can be corrupted!!! but glad that you’re still enjoying the parade pictures and if anybody going to Guatemala with Kath has a camera, maybe i can share pictures of their parade, too!!

  2. Gaby says:

    Bueno … in defense of Richard & myself (and I don’t even KNOW Richard nor do I truly profess to state that he & I are in agreeent..), I am not opposed to parades. I, like you Barb, see them as anthropologic moments in time. I like seeing your photos of parades in Mexico. Traditions are – well, what they are. And if parades are a part of those traditions, then so be it. I just find the entire aspect of parades to be a weird phenomena of human nature. Of course they exist world-wide. And, I suspect, their ‘point’ is to express, well, what? Joyessness, solidarity, freedom, celebration & probably many more emotions (and not necessarily in that order). I, also, agree w/Kathi in that the best ones for me are the ones in which I’ve been a participant. And by ‘best’, I mean: the most fun because of feeling part of the ‘team’ – plus you get to flirt outrageously with the crowd & not be looked down upon.

    So, are paraders ‘losers’ or ‘winners’? Are parade attenders ‘losers’ or ‘winners’? What is the meaning of life? And, are parades any more a waste of time than, say – anything else?

    Enjoy your parades in your new culture. And for those of us still here in the frigid-northland (funny, there just aren’t that many parades when the weather is shiity, right?!), we’ll enjoy them vicariously through you. For myself, I appreciate the research you’ve done to tell us on your blog the symbolic & ritualistic & techical makeup of each of these parades. I think you’re doing a great job.

    ps: hope to be your new neighbor in October!

    • Barbara says:

      Gaby, i never thought that you or richard would throw up your hands in disgust at yet another parade blog, if for no other reason than that they’re so colorful! but perhaps i do rely on them a bit too often…..not that that will stop me, you understand, just that i recognize my parade dependency. [“they” say that’s the first step you take in getting help, you know!]

      hope to see you down here in a few months!!!

  3. Dominique says:

    You could write about your daily (or not so daily) bowel movements and I’d read it!! I love all that you write about. I like seeing things through your camera and hearing your voice in my head as I read your posts. It’s like you never moved. :-). Keep up the great work, parades, restaurants, neighbors, friends and all.

    • Barbara says:

      yeah, yeah, what do you want??? you ain’t kissing my butt for nothin’!!! ja ja ja ja.

      and, of course, lots of us down here in the land of burros love Don Kee Wilbanks’ facebook page!!

  4. Craig says:

    “Keep up the great work, parades, restaurants, neighbors, friends and all.”
    I’ll second that emotion but tread lightly in any lower alimentary canal exposition.

  5. Gaby says:

    Ditto that, Craig….

  6. Gaby says:

    ok, Barb – so you be fishin’ for some new fish to fry? ok – so… how’s ’bout giving us some ‘typical’ Barb days: where you go, what you do, what you eat, who you see, what you think. Any hey – if there are some parades in the mix, who are we to know?!

    Take care …

    • Barbara says:

      so, Gaby, my post from 25 january 2011 is one of those kind of “typical” day posts you asked for! well, atypical in the sense that i don’t have to do it but once a year, but a pretty typical experience for when my neighbors and i DO have to do it!

  7. CC says:

    Hi Barb……….We will be there in 4 weeks….staying in Ajijic but plan to take the bus to Joco
    which we did last year when we were there….loved the new malacon
    Do you have any fav restaurants or bar where we could have a drink/lunch during the day ?

    Thanks………….

    • Barbara says:

      ah, CC, depends on what day and what time you are here! i love gloria’s restaurant in el chante. and i love the sandwich shop in joco, which is only open on saturdays and sundays. this upcoming sunday i’m going to check out a new restaurant in joco that is run by a fellow who has run some good restaurants in san juan cosala and ajijic. i’ll be reporting about that at some point!

      as far as bars, i don’t know. women are not welcome in the bars in joco. but that doesn’t mean you can’t have a few beers in restaurants!

      there are lots of birria cafes on the square in joco but they have become very expensive. get in touch with me when you are down here and we’ll figure something out! my email is barbarahopkins20@yahoo.com.

      • CC says:

        Hi Barb
        I have NO idea what day ( we are on vac and don’t want any plans ) ahhhhhhhhhh for the day I get to retire …………soon I hope LOL
        I will look for Gloria’s and who knows maybe our paths will cross

        Thanks
        and BTW enjoy reading your blog
        Take care

  8. Karen says:

    I love parades! And festivals. We watched a documentary with the Dalai Lama awhile back, and one of the questions the interviewer asked was how to achieve world peace. His response? More picnics! And festivals!! So, I think a parade – especially within a festival – serves a wonderful purpose.

  9. Gigi says:

    A late comment here to cast another vote for parades and festivals! And I love the posts that spotlight the local folks, like the ancianos. And the crafts, and anything Mexico! An ‘imported’ set of Kathi’s Guatamala parade would be cool, too. I spend time in Mexico vicariously though you!

Leave a Reply

