A Place to Live in Concepcion de Buenos Aires, Jalisco, Mexico

I’m having a great time going through my photos and looking back at my time here in Mexico since I arrived almost exactly four years ago.  So I’m going to continue this stroll down memory lane, but with more of a concentration on one place today.

About three years ago, I  moved to the south shore of Lake Chapala to the little pueblo of San Cristobal Zapotitlan.    When I rented that place, I knew that I needed to be looking around for another place to rent because my landlord wouild want his house back.  So I checked out a place to rent right on the plaza in Concepcion de Buenos Aires, Jalisco.

Looking at the map of Jalisco state below, find Guadalajara.  Look directly south and you will see Ajijic.  Continue directly south and you will see Concepcion.  That’s the place I’m writing about.

The north shore of Lake Chapala is at an altitude of about 5,500 feet [1676 meters].  Concepcion de Buenos Aires is located almost due south of Ajijic, but at an altitude of about 8,000 feet [2438 meters].  So it’s significantly cooler during the dry season and in the winter.

The town is small.  Perhaps 3,000 people, most of whom seem to be involved in farming and/or dairies.  You see lots of guys on horses or burros with big metal milk cans headed into town with the jugs full and out of town with them empty.  Like these two with full cans pulling up in front of a “processing plant”:

Their owner unloads them and takes the metal jugs into the “plant”:

But I wasn’t there just to admire burros or horses, I was doing some rental hunting.  So I set off for the plaza, the heart of any Mexican village, and started asking about places for rent in my horrible Spanish.  But because so many men in CdBA go north to work…or at least they did at that time…I found several people whose English was much better than my Spanish.

These kind folks directed me to the butcher shop [carniceria] and said that the owner knew about a place for rent.  So there I went.

And indeed he did.  A place right on the plaza.  Not what everyone is looking for.  Plazas in Mexico can be very loud at times.  The church is usually on or next to the plaza and all the celebrations of saints’ days and holidays and funerals take place there.  In addition, that’s where the kioskos [bandstands] are so if there’s anything going on in the plaza, there’s loud music.  But I’m an old hippie and spent many of my younger years next to huge amps at the Avalon, the Fillmore, or the Family Dog venues in San Francisco, so I  still wanted to see it this place.

Here’s the place I would see.  It’s through the double doors just to the left of the fountain.

I expect that you’d like to see the interior of the place, too; right?  Well, here are some photos that I took that day.

As you walk through the front door, here’s what you see:

In lots of Mexican houses, the front rooms are used for businesses, so perhaps this is a place where customers or clients can wait.  Either way, it’s just gorgeous.

From there, we moved on into the living room.

And there was a lovely little fireplace that separates that bench from the living area.  And yet another fireplace in the living room itself:

The floor tiles, as you can see above, are lovely.  And equally as enticing are the ceilings:

To the left of the living room as you entered was the kitchen.  Probably not what you are used to in the US or Canada, but a lovely space down here.   There are some cabinets and a built-in eating and/or preparation space:

 And off the kitchen is the door leading to two relatively small bedrooms and one shared bathroom.

Across the interior courtyard from the living room is the master bedroom and attached bathroom:

Then behind the two smaller bedrooms is a laundry room which could accommodate a washer and dryer if one was so inclined:

And, finally, the small back patio, which needs some work:

I loved the place, for which the owner was asking 3000MX a month, but, honestly, my favorite thing about it was the key for the front door!

I mean, how would you keep that key with you when you left???  I think I’d have to wear it on a very large chain around my neck!

As it turned out, I didn’t have to leave my lovely little house in San Cristobal for 18 months and then I lucked into a fabulous house in Jocotepec.  But I still think fondly of that house on the plaza in Concepcion de Buenos Aires.

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Lake Chapala and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Place to Live in Concepcion de Buenos Aires, Jalisco, Mexico

  1. Mike Osborn says:

    Nice place, especially for $220-$240US. Frankly I find the noise sufficient here on the carretera and moving even to a small town’s plaza would be beyond my endurance. I do agree with your choice of a small town. Concepcion has always intrigued me and especially in the April-June warm spell!

    • Barbara says:

      Mike, after I moved to San Cristobal Zapotitlan, everyone in Joco, Ajijic, etc., would say to me “Isn’t it awfully quiet down there?” And my answer, living half a block of the church, a block from the plaza, and a half a block from the malecon, was always a resounding “NO!” I swear that little pueblo had two or three times the number of fiestas [with all their attendant noise] that Joco has! Some mornings I would walk out into my yard and find so many cohete sticks stuck in the lawn that it resembled a fort after an Indian attack in the old west!

  2. Hanna says:

    I grew up there! Good on you! My husband was impressed by the beautiful greenery until he realized how cold it gets there!

  3. Natalia says:

    Hello, I read this blog post long after you posted it but I am curious if you ever went back to Concepcion? The man at the butcher shop that talked to you is actually my father, and the house that was for rent belonged to my mothers godmother who passed it on to her daughter which coincendently became my aunt by marriage to my father’s brother. I’ve visited that house many times and it has such a nice charm. Till this day, it is still vacant besides the business that occupies the front of the house.

Leave a Reply

