Flowers

I noticed that after my last post, a couple of my old high school friends, Sandra and Linda [and at my age, I DO mean old!], had stumbled upon one of my Picasa albums showing photos of flowers at my little casa in San Cristobal Zapotitlan. Those folks seemed to like them, so I thought some of you might also enjoy seeing some pictures of the flowers and plants that we have here around Lake Chapala.

Some of these pictures were taken at that house, and some were taken here in the garden in Joco at the house which I now rent.  I know nothing about plants and flowers and I can’t identify most of them, so I won’t even attempt it, although if you arrow over them, you’ll see what I’ve named them for downloading purposes.  Some of the names are actually correct!  But just enjoy the colors and, if you’ve a mind to, you can sniff you screen for the scent of them!

And if you’ve ever wondered how fast things grow down here in the semi-tropics, here are a few shots of plants as they were last year here at my rental place in Joco and then a few shots of what they looked like a week or so ago.

Last year, my friend/gardener/pool guy/handyman Antonio brought over a small avocado tree and planted it in an empty space close by a rather small papaya tree.  Here’s what they looked like then [less than one year ago]:

Here’s what they look like now:

And, yeah, Ms. Papaya is producing at a rather alarming rate!

Against the wall dividing this house from the two-story house next door, my landlady Nonie planted some what I have been told are Schefflera trees.  She hoped that some day, way in the future, they would grow tall enough that people looking out of the second story of that next door house couldn’t see into this house.  Here’s what they looked like in May of 2011:

Here’s what they look like now:

What can I say?  The future is now, baby!!!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Gardening, Lake Chapala, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

