Worthless true talents

The other day my friend Sandy G. in Denver posted this on her Facebook account. Made me stop and think about other totally useless talents I have, because I can totally do this.

So what mad skills do I have?  Well, I can type like the wind.  Oh, wait, maybe that’s not a good analogy because the wind has only a few fingers and you can only feel them in the winter.  Nonetheless, I will pit my typing skills against almost anybody using a Selectric typewriter.

I once took a typing test at in San Francisco at an employment agency while seeking work and came out with a 120 words per minute score.  And that was WAY before the days of the computer.  That was on an actual typewriter.

I was also kind of famous for being able to whip up a delicious meal using only prepared products.   I mean, I could take Hamburger Helper, a bag of frozen vegetables, and a pack of already prepared salad and make an impromptu meal out of it!  My friends in New Orleans would come from blocks away for this epicurean feast!

My old friend, Peggy, knowing full well of my proclivity for taking shortcuts in meal preparation, once gave me a cookbook for Christmas.  It was entitled “If You Can’t Stand to Cook”.  She figured it would suit me just fine.  Turns out it wasn’t so much a cookbook as an instruction and recipe book for people in wheelchairs!

Last Sunday while we were doing a pitch in lunch and game day, I asked my friends what they could do.  Turns out Kathi can wiggle her ears and Jonnie can flip the bird with her middle toe!  We’re just loaded with talented freaks of nature down here!

So, what, in my old age, am I good at in Mexico?  That’s important because that’s where I live now and have done for four years.

I was always pretty good at charades, but here in Jocotepec, I’ve become a master of the art.  Since learning a new language is one of those mad skills I never had, it behooves me to learn to act out what I want even at the expense of my dignity.

As I mentioned, a few days ago I was going to a pitch-in lunch with some of my friends here and had volunteered to bring hot wings.  The mercado [public market] in Joco is loaded with folks who sell chicken parts, but I had no idea how to say “wings,” so I acted it out.  Yeah, right there in the middle of the mercado.

And you know what?  The chicken ladies got it on the first try.  That’s how good I am at charades.

I’m also good at getting a smile out of kids and grownups here around Lake Chapala when I whip out my camera.  Okay, okay, I don’t so much whip it out so much as have it with me all the time.

But look at some of these pictures I’ve taken over the past four years of folks smiling for me!  Hey, that’s a talent; right?

For instance, there is this Chapala artist who makes this:

Or these two kids in San Juan Cosala here on the north side of Lake Chapala who were watching a parade with me:

Or my friend Georgia with a new buddy in Tuxpan, Jalisco:

Smiles just delight me.  So, faithful readers, try to put a smile on your face today!

And here’s your video song:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=351l62Yx0oI

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Getting Older, Lake Chapala and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Worthless true talents

  1. Sandy Gottmer says:

    Barb, I am so glad I could bring a smile to your face although all I did was forward a posting I saw. It actually was an apt description of MY talents. I love your blog so keep on posting as I’m living vicariously through you.

  2. Gigi says:

    I’m catching up on your posts and am here to tell you I’m giving you a big GRIN! Love the posts, miss seeing you!

Leave a Reply

