It Tastes Just Like Summer!

I am not a vodka fan (sorry, Barb).  It has no flavor, so I’ve just never been able to see the point.  I love a rich, layered, full-bodied cab or merlot, a festive margarita, a smokey Laphroaig Scotch (back in the Everglades, we often saluted the setting sun on  the shores of Florida Bay with the luscious Laphroaig), a fizzy, minty mojito, and the occasional pina colada (not a real fan of sweet drinks).  But anything with vodka?  Wouldn’t touch the stuff.

Until Norah Jones convinced me otherwise.  Yeah – Norah the singer.  There was a tiny little blurb  in Food and Wine recently about Norah’s new favorite drink (I don’t even think it had a name) but since she raved and raved about it, and since I really love her music and good taste, I figured I’d buy some vodka and give it a go.   And, I’d recommend it to any of you gentle readers.

Start by putting your pretty glasses in the freezer (Norah doesn’t mention the pretty glasses and the freezer part, but I like a nice presentation) to chill them up while you’re mixing the drink.

Then, gather the crucial ingredients:

Fresh mint and cucumber.   Seed and skin about two inches of a fresh cucumber.  (You don’t need tomatoes; they just happened to be on the cutting board and are, by the way, our very first harvest of the season – a yummy taxi tomato.)

Put the mint and cucumber in a shaker and add a squeeze of fresh lime.

Add several jiggers of vodka and a handful of ice cubes, and shake vigorously (to bruise the the flavor out of the cuke and mint) for a minute or two.

Pour into your pretty, frozen glass, add a touch of mint for garnish, and serve.

I was skeptical when I read the recipe, but after one taste, this drink had me hooked – ’cause it tastes just like summer.  And, maybe that should be its name – The Summer Drink.

About Karen

While loving the wizardry of words, I also love to travel because of that present-moment sense that each day is a gift to unwrap that the experience of travel conveys so well. Other passions include hiking, gardening, photographing, movies and documentaries, reading, writing (I've finished my first novel .... and seeking an agent) and entering recipe contests. Michael and I are both fascinated with factory tours, literary landmarks, and seeking restaurants mentioned in novels - just to see if they exist. Our favorite restaurant we've found this way is the Nuevo Latino-style Yuca (www.yuca.com) in Miami.
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Tastes Just Like Summer!

  1. Joy thompson says:

    Ok, I don’t (didn’t!) drink vodka. Keep a bottle in the pantry to make frozen shrimp taste fresh — wash in sea salt, rinse, then cover in vodka for an hour. Anyway, love cucumber, mint, Norah Jones — not necessarily in that order. Took the afternoon off today. Read the summer drink recipe and made one. Fantastic! Cooling — it’s hot here in PA! Thanks for the great idea. I doubt Pierce will drink this — he likes Gin and his home-brewed tonic. But, I’ll make him one when he comes in from cutting hay. Thanks! Great drink!

    • Karen says:

      Joy, so glad you liked The Summer Drink. I, too, only had vodka hanging around for cooking – I like how it brightens up the flavors in a pasta sauce – so it was convenient to try this drink (as I have copious amounts of mint, too – it’s like a weed, but a very aromatic one – so I was happy to have another use for mint) since the vodka was on hand. I’ll have to try your shrimp recipe. We usually marinate ours in a salt/sugar/garlic/lemon/herb mixture for about 20 minutes before grilling, but I’ll bet the vokda perks them up very nicely.

  2. Jonnie says:

    Hey, maybe Barb will give me a little of her vodka to try this out!! Sounds yummy.

Leave a Reply

