More Things I Forgot to Tell You

My friend, Joe J. and I were writing back and forth on Facebook today about a link that he had sent me.  It was this one:

Now in the U.S., I would be in total agreement with him.   But down here Joco way, it doesn’t make much sense.

The main difference is that we usually don’t even HAVE “construction signs” around these parts.  You will be driving down the road and all of a sudden there are some plastic barriers or cones set up, and you just need to figure out what to do all by yourself.  And these “barriers” are probably 30 feet from the nearest construction worker so you need to figure it out pretty darned quick!

But that’s one of the things that I love about Mexico.  Highway workers never assume that you need a ten-mile warning about the fact that there is construction coming up, nor do you need a two-mile leeway to get into one lane in preparation for said highway work.  Around these parts, the highway workers figure that if you are smart enough to drive, you are smart enough to figure out how to get into another lane pretty rapidly.

And drivers here ARE, for the most part.  Although, oddly enough, for the past few weeks with all the roadwork going on here, I’ve seen vehicles pull over and get in line behind me because I seem to know where I’m going…and I normally do.

One of the things that drives me the most crazy here, however, is the failure to post a notice that the street ahead is closed off for some reason.  So Stormy the truck and I are chugging down the street happily and then we get to the next corner and it’s closed or underwater or something.

The only method to extricate yourself at that point is to back out.

And I am so, so bad at that!!  I would find it difficult to back down a four-lane highway, so I can’t tell you how bad I am at backing down a narrow one-lane street with vehicles parked on either side.   I haven’t yet taken out a side-view mirror, but really it’s only a matter of time.

And here’s your “backing up” video!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2g76DUy7jKY

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Getting Older, Lake Chapala, Travel, Work in Mexico and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Things I Forgot to Tell You

  1. Dominique says:

    Hahaha!! I’ve seen you back up…from far far away!! Loved the Video!! How did you find that? Maybe she can teach you to back up because her Daddy Taught Her Good!!

Leave a Reply

