Cuyutlan, Colima, Pre-Road Trip Report!

So, it’s been a while since I posted, but I really have an explanation for that!  (Don’t I always?)

In this case, it’s because I don’t have access to my photos of church interiors.  I store my photos on Picasa.com, but for whatever reason, I haven’t been able to access them for the past few days and I can’t even log into the site.  Oh, well, what the hell, as one of my favorite writers, Joseph Heller, wrote in his fabulous novel “Catch-22.”

Let me tell you what IS going on in my life these days.  I’M GOING TO THE BEACH!!!

Now you can probably tell from that last sentence that I’m pretty excited about it.  You’d think that being on kind of a permanent vacation, as I am in retirement, I wouldn’t be that excited about taking another vacation.  But, you know what, I still am!

Except, these days it’s not so much taking a vacation that excites me as going somewhere new.  And, trust me, this place is totally new to me!

I’ve spent some time in Manzanillo and some time in Mazatlan and a very little time in La Manzanilla and Melaque and Barra de Navidad, but I’ve never spent any time in the area of Tecoman or Cuyutlan, Colima, Mexico.  But I’m about to!

But in a couple of weeks, my friend Jojo and I are going to Cuyutlan for three nights/four days…..as the travel agents would put it.

Cuyutlan is a small pueblo (population really small, but who knows how many souls?) just south of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico, right on the Pacific Ocean.

A few days ago, a local fellow who runs a B&B in Ajijic, posted on one of our local webboards here around Lake Chapala that he had a house, right on the ocean, for rent in Cuyutlan, at a really good price.  And since I still owed my friend Jonnie a birthday present, I decided to check it out.  And this is what was offered:

 

 

 

You probably can’t see it, but way over to the right of the photo above is a gate that opens out directly onto the beach, which opens out directly onto the Pacific Ocean!   How cool is that!!!

And there’s a “real” bedroom, too, aside from the foldout couch:

 

And I didn’t even have to “dibs” the bed; Jonnie just conceded it to me!  (That’s  how you can tell who your real friends are!!  They just do things like that!)

Anyhow, Jojo and I are going over to the coast to enjoy this place and at a great price!  The weather here at Lake Chapala is lovely this time of the year and the weather on the coast is gonna be hot, but we are both totally up for it!

Eat your hearts out!

If you are interested in renting this place for yourself, contact me for more information as to how to contact the owners!  And, yes, I will definitely be writing about our stay there!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Getting Older, Lake Chapala, Travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cuyutlan, Colima, Pre-Road Trip Report!

  1. Steve Coss says:

    I am the owner of the little beach rental and also the owner of the B&B in Ajijic http://www.casafloresajijic.com and I would say that JoJo was absolutely CRAZY to concede the bed, in favour of the sofa bed!!! That was so nice (insert wicked laugh here!) but maybe that’s just my wicked sense of Irish humour!! And yes, that is how we spell humour in Ireland!

  2. Dean says:

    Unfortunately none of the pictures will open. Would love to see them! Have a wonderful time.

    Dean

    • Barbara says:

      Dean, I am having a terrible time getting the photos to post and can’t figure out why! They all look fine on my end (so to speak!) and in fact I re-loaded them all again a little while ago. Thanks for letting me know they are still not showing up!

  3. K says:

    I can see the pix now. Earlier today I couldn’t see them.

  4. K says:

    They also show up on the FB entry.

  5. Sandy Gottmer says:

    Barb, can’t wait to hear about your vacation within a vacation. Just wanted to let you know that none of the pics in your email came across! Hopefully the pics of your vacation will. Sandy

  6. Peggy says:

    The pics came through perfectly!. Envy doesn’t begin to cover my thoughts about your little vacation. Here in South Texas we have the heat but no scenery except dried up trees, bushes and shrubs. ENJOY!!!! Can’t wait to read the travelogue.

    • Barbara says:

      Jonnie and i are pretty jazzed up about it, too! personally, i’m not looking so much for the heat and humidity (did that in NOLA), but i AM looking forward to the ocean!

  7. HOW VERY COOL! I love treasures like this!

    • elkika says:

      I have to say that I love reading your posts. They are just very ‘readable’ for want of a better word. Written in a very practical way and enjoyable with some wonderful descriptions and insights!!

      Steve

      On Friday, October 26, 2012, Start The Evolution Without Me! wrote: > lindaraebaumgartner commented: “HOW VERY COOL! I love treasures like this!” >

      • Barbara says:

        steve, “readable” is the very nicest thing you could say about my postings! that’s just what they are meant to be!

  8. Myrta says:

    Would love to know more about this rental place, short and long term. Thank you.
    Myrta.Thank you.

Leave a Reply

