Time with my Friends

I don’t always cart my camera around with me.  I know that that comes as a shock to my loyal readers, because I always seem to have photos of things.  But sometimes I just go with the flow, as I did today.  So here’s a picture-less story of how I spent my day.

I belong to a group of about 18 old ladies, like myself, who get together once or twice a week to play games.  (I think the ages of the members range from 58 to 79.)  We play cards and board games and word games.  Everyone is pretty much open to any type of game except [sigh] Trivial Pursuit, which I love and can kick butt at but which everyone else seems to hate.

Today it was my turn to host “morning games,” so called because we start at 10:30AM and play for a couple of hours, and then generally go out to eat at some place near to the home of the hostess.  So, today, we were going to play and then go out to eat in Jocotepec, Jalisco, Mexico.

We kind of trade off where games are held.  Because some of us come from Jocotepec, and others come from Chapala Haciendas, which are about 20 miles apart, we always like to meet in the middle somewhere, but that’s not fair to those who live in the middle.  So, frankly, whoever is up for hosting hosts!  Besides, it gives us a chance to see and enjoy some areas that we might not see much of otherwise.

The “duties” of the hostess are to offer drinks, provide a game to be played, and show the attendees where the bathrooms are.  (Hey!  We’re old!  We need to know that.)  Oh, and I guess that, unlike men hosting poker parties, we try to clean up a little bit around the house and our drinks are, for the most part, non-alcoholic.

The only other “requirement” is that you need to kinda keep your pets in line.  Because we almost all have pets.   Big dogs, little dogs, and cats of all kinds.  And maybe you need to keep your husband/significant other out of the house or out of the way for a while if he’s amenable to it.  For a bunch of old ladies, we have the potty-mouthed among us (mostly me; okay?) and it just embarrasses the old men.

Today, as I said, the games were at my house, so all I had to do was make some drinks, provide a game, and keep my notoriously evil cat Pepe Z. under control.   So I made some tea, made some ice, bought a couple of bottles of soft drinks and had the libation issue totally in hand.

Because we had an odd number of women coming over to play games, I needed to come up with something that five of us could play.  My choice was Five Crowns, a rummy-type card game that we all like.  As far as the keeping of pet in line, I was a little more worried about that.  Pepe Z. can be an absolute terror sometimes, but today he was the model of a well-behaved cat.

He came when I called.  He “stayed” when I told him to.  He came out and greeted my guests and then retired into the house (we were playing cards on the patio) to take a nap.  Ah, the perfect pet!  (Although for some reason, my friends seems to think it odd that I treat him like a dog.  Go figure!)

After our rousing game of Five Crowns, we headed out to El Quinto Sabor, our very upscale restaurant here in Jocotepec.  My friend, “other” Barbara, and I had been there before (me, numerous times), but the other three card players had not.  And we two Barbara’s were anxious to show the place off to them and let them have a really good meal at the same time.

And, friends, they LOVED it!  The food was delicious and the service was great.  The prices were small.  I think the average check for lots of good food and excellent drinks and great ambiance was about 63 pesos ($4.85US).

They were all also impressed with Jocotepec.  I mean, our streets are clean.  We have REAL sidewalks and a malecon (boardwalk) that, in my opinion (and you know how open-minded and not pueblo-proud I am), is the best around Lake Chapala.  The weather was fabulous (and even I am not going to take credit for that), and the house and garden where I live looked great (thanks to my friends Ana and Antonio).

So, thanks, “other” Barbara, Bernice, Linda, and Nancy for coming over today!  I know that the day started out not so good for a couple of you, but I think you’ll agree that those hours in Joco were pretty darn good!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Food, Fun Stuff, Getting Older, Lake Chapala and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time with my Friends

  1. ric says:

    So Pepe is allowed back in the house? Is that progress?

    • Barbara says:

      Dude, it is MAJOR progress! Knock on wood, it’s been about two weeks since he bit me! And today he was cleaning himself! He’s kind of starting to act like a cat!

  2. CC says:

    Hi Barb..we are heading there Nov 01 for a month ..staying in W Ajijic ..what hrs is El Quinto Sabor open ? Thanks…………..Collette

    • Barbara says:

      Collette, right now it’s open from 8am to 5pm Monday through Friday (closed on Tuesday). And on Saturday and Sunday, I think it’s open from 8am until 10pm.

  3. After reading your blog I ordered Five Crowns and a couple other card games. As I’ve told you- we are game players too. So now when I come to visit I’ll know how to play that one! I love that tradition! Still kicking myself for not making the trip with Ric!

    • Barbara says:

      Five Crowns is so much fun. and really easy. kids should be able to learn it very quickly. it’s the adults….well, the old adults and the drinking adults (you and i fit into both categories)….who have trouble remembering what’s wild from hand to hand!

Leave a Reply

