Cuyutlan, Colima, part four

You will perhaps remember that in my last post about my trip to Cuyutlan that I told you that on Sunday afternoon, I had found Jesus.  And so I had.  Except that this was a very nice restaurant manager/cook named Jesus (pronounced, of course, hay SOOS).

He and his family run another of those restaurants on the malecon in Cuyutlan.  Having learned a couple of things from our experience at dinner the night before, we ignored the property manager’s suggestion and went with a suggestion that I had received from a gringa who lives here around Lake Chapala and has a beach house in Cuyutlan.

This restaurant was much more to our liking, if only because the service was great!  From the moment we walked in, we were acknowledged.  Because it was so hot, Jonnie and I agreed that we didn’t need to sit by the ocean this time.  Sitting in the covered area, closer to the kitchen, would probably allow us to cool off and also not have to wait for so long for service.

And right we were!  Jesus was right there to wait on us and take our drink orders.  He had kind of a minimal bar set up, as you can see in the photo above, but, hey, it’s not like Jonnie and I were ordering fancy drinks.  She wanted a beer and I wanted a Michelada (beer, Kermato or Clamato, lime and ice).  I was amused, however, to see that Jesus’ red wine was gonna come from a box like they sell at my local supermarket here in Joco.

I wish I had taken a few more photos at this restaurant and apologize that I did not.  Two things in particular I wish I had pictures of.  (1)  A photo of Jesus himself.  He’s a good-looking guy, but different looking from most of the Mexicans that I know.  To me, he looks Hawaiian.  I’ll admit that it’s been 40 years or more since I lived there, but I still remember those Hawaiian guys, and Jesus totally resembled them.  I even mentioned it to Jonnie, apparently rather loudly, because Jesus came whirling back to see what else we wanted/needed since he had heard his name.  I told him that he looked like a Hawaiian to me and he proudly announced to us that he is, in fact, an Aztec.

But I gotta tell you, Jesus looked way more like the Hawaiian guy in the middle here than like any Aztec images I’ve ever seen:

But his announcement as to his heritage did make me think about migration patterns and how long ago Pacific Islanders were in some kind of relationship (trading, warring) with the indigenous folks of Mexico.

The other thing that I loved about this place was a little rope hammock that was strung from the rafters under the awning near the entrance.  The hammock itself was about waist-high for an adult.  I could see that there was something in the hammock, but it looked like a pile of clothes.  I figured it was the place that the employees stored their personal items when they came to work.

I did notice, however, that every time one of the folks working in the restaurant (Jesus, a gorgeous young woman, and a beautiful older lady) walked by, they would give the hammock a push.  And, of course, it was NOT a pile of items in there, it was a young child who was snoozing away the warm afternoon.

It looked kind of like this:

And isn’t that a great idea?  In the Mexico that I inhabit, it’s very, very often “bring your child to work” day, particularly, as in this case, when grandma is working as well.

I truly love the hammock idea for the keeping of babies and young toddlers.  Wet their pants or diapers?  No problem.  There’s air coming across them to dry them out and any overflow just goes through the holes in the hammock.  Kids smashing their fingers in a crib by letting the sides down?  No worry about that!  Slats on the sides or bottom of a crib that a small child can put their face through?  Ain’t gonna happen with a hammock!

But enough about baby hammocks, barb, let’s talk about your meal.  Well, the good news is that it was promptly delivered and it was hot where it should be and cool where it should be.  Unfortunately, there wasn’t much of it, at least of what Jonnie ordered.   I was pretty satisfied with my portions, however.

Let’s give this place a B- based on our combined scores.  Personally, up to this point, I’m loving the place in Tecoman more and more!  Great service, great food, and a good price.

But for this Sunday evening, it’s back to the casita for more Micheladas and cards.  What a life!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Food, Fun Stuff, Getting Older, Lake Chapala, Travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cuyutlan, Colima, part four

  1. In the US we often make things much harder than they need to be! Reading your posts makes me remember what I’ve always thought – I have “some sort” of strong connection with Mexico deep inside me!

Leave a Reply

