Pepe’s Adoption Day Party

100_6880You all know about the famous Pepe Z.; right?  My gender-identify-confused, has-to-stay-on-Prozac pussycat?  Well, about a month ago, some of my friends and I had a little adoption day party for him.  Yep, the first anniversary of Pepe’s adoption and after a year of living together, both he and I are still alive.  What better reason for a party?

Oh, yeah, and to celebrate the fact that I wasn’t a goner by then.  Because who would want to adopt this cat were I to get planted?  He’s not that cute and he has to have Prozac every day.  But, hey, he’s my big, fat kitty and I kinda like him and wanted to celebrate.

So a party we had!  It was a pitch-in lunch with the only stipulation being that it had to be something related to Pepe the cat.  Oh, my friends, what creativity we had!  Kathi made tuna casserole and served it in cat food cans….thoroughly washed cat food cans, I can assure you.

Jonnie brought cat-shredded cat slaw.  Sherry had some salmon dip.  Sher did the shrimp cocktails.  I had made some banana nut bread (because Pepe is both bananas AND nuts), and also ordered in some “pepe”roni pizza.

My good friend Phyllis went all out and ordered a cake from one of our great local bakeries “Rochatas” in Joco.  Even Pepe was enamored of that!

100_6887And, yes, he IS licking the frosting.  And, yes, animal lovers, he is still alive to tell the tale.

That fabulous looking plate of deliciousness at the top?  That’s a 7-layer dip that my friend Nancy made in Pepe’s honor!!  (And she even brought a large one for the rest of us!)

Frankly, the one thing that I’m most interested in and to which I suspect I will never get an answer, is what the cake decorators at Rochatas thought of the request for a topping that looks like a cat/squirrel/skunk mixture!

About Barbara

in april of 2008, i moved from the united states to mexico. during my working days, i held lots and lots of jobs....almost all chosen because they were fun or interesting instead of how much they paid. when i started thinking about retirement (in my 40s), i realized that i would never be able to retire to a country where english was the native language. and although i had traveled to every state in the US -- and lived in lots of them -- i had never been outside the country with the exception of canada and mexico. and since you now know that i could never afford to retire in canada (even to the french-speaking area), mexico won by default.
This entry was posted in Bureaucracy, Fiestas, Food, Fun Stuff, Getting Older, pets. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pepe’s Adoption Day Party

  1. I thought it just looked like a skunk

  2. Karen says:

    What a great Party! And how creative you and your friends are!! Gateaux doesn’t get to look at these pics – or he’s gonna want a party, too.

Leave a Reply

